Mac OS X Lion Tip: Restore Windows—or Don’t

If you’re running OS X Lion or Mountain Lion and you’re getting tired of programs reopening old documents when you launch them, you can turn off this feature. The setting is found in System Preferences> General.

In 10.7, the checkbox is labeled “Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps”; in 10.8, it’s “Close windows when quitting an application.”

Set those boxes appropriately, and your apps will start fresh every time.