Judges Announced for Digital Magazine Awards 2011

Below is some news from Quark. Last year’s awards were a big hit, and with the advances in digital publishing this year, the 2011 awards are  likely to see some outstanding work.


Quark Announces Digital Magazine Awards 2011 Judging Panel

Judges from Leading International Media Companies will Evaluate Entries for Digital Magazine Awards 2011

London, UK – October 4, 2011 – Quark announced today the full list of judges for the Digital Magazine Awards 2011. Quark also announced that the deadline to submit entries to the competition has been extended to October 21, 2011.

The lead judges panel will be chaired by Digital Magazine Awards founder Bruce Hudson and includes CNN International Digital’s Vice President and General Manager, Peter Bale; The New York Times’ Multimedia Producer, Tanzina Vega; Thomson Reuters’ (China) Chairman, David Schlesinger; and Quark’s Vice President of Marketing, Gavin Drake.

The Digital Magazine Awards Chairman Bruce Hudson said, “To secure such a diverse panel of industry experts in our second year not only adds kudos to the competition, but it demonstrates how seriously this burgeoning industry is valued.”

Gavin Drake, Vice President of Marketing at Quark, said, “It’s fantastic to be a part of the second annual Digital Magazine Awards, especially because now with App StudioTM designers are able to create digital magazines and content for the iPad from within QuarkXPress® 9. Many have already been producing digital publications with Quark technology, so this is a great opportunity for them to create and submit their work for consideration in the competition.”

Entries for the awards are open till October 21, 2011. Finalists will be announced in November with the winners announced on November 30, 2011.

Full list of Digital Magazine Awards 2011 lead judges:

  • David Schlesinger: Chairman, Thomson Reuters China
  • Tanzina Vega: Multimedia Producer, The New York Times
  • Gavin Drake: Vice President of Marketing, Quark Software Inc.
  • Sarah Locke: Chief Executive, Braben PR
  • Peter Bale: Vice President and General Manager, CNN International Digital
  • Ivan Fernandes: Global Director of Social Media, MediaCom
  • Rishi Khiani: CEO, Times Internet Limited
  • Richard Ayers: Head of Digital, Manchester City Football Club
  • Peter Houston: Editor, FlippingPages.org.uk
  • Russell Clark: Editor, MagDesigner.net
  • Bruce Hudson: Chairman, Digital Magazine Awards

Judges’ full biographies are available at www.digitalmagazineawards.com. The lead judges may be available for interview and can be contacted via: gerrie@digitalmagazineawards.com.

About the Digital Magazine Awards
The Digital Magazine Awards 2011 are an international awards celebrating the best of the digital publishing industry with categories ranging from Magazine of the Year and individual awards for Editor, Designer, and Writer of the Year to award categories for outstanding advertisements.

The entry fee is GBP£50 per category entered. Award winners will be announced on November 30, 2011.

About Quark
Quark Software Inc. is a leading provider of publishing software for professional designers, small and mid-sized businesses, and large organizations in more than 160 countries. Two decades ago, Quark’s flagship product — QuarkXPress — changed the course of traditional publishing. For more than 25 years, Quark has built on its knowledge and experience in design and publishing to provide software solutions that support collaborative workflows and automated publishing across multiple channels. Today, Quark is revolutionizing publishing again by setting new standards in XML-based publishing across print, the Web, and digital media, as well as by helping owners and employees of small and mid-sized businesses promote their products and services easily, professionally, and affordably. Denver-based Quark Inc. is privately held.